The Latest
July 21, 2024

Where Every Family Matters

Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Presents 2021 Physician Awards

Dr. Mary Jane Brown named Physician of the Year.

Mary Jane Brown, MD - FemInEM

Dr. Mary Jane Brown

Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital is pleased to recognize its 2021 honorees for outstanding accomplishments in clinical leadership. Dr. Mary Jane Brown has been named Physician of the Year; Drs. Ray Johnson, Frank Louthan, James Poliner and Awais Javed received the Clinical Excellence Award; and Dr. Mike Jordan was honored with the Dr. Olin Williams Distinguished Service Award.

Physician of the Year honoree Dr. Mary Jane Brown is an esteemed emergency medicine physician who has been a member of the medical staff for 32 years.Β  She has served on the Continuing Education Committee, Quality of Care Committee, Executive Committee and is the current Chair of the Physician Wellness Committee. Dr. Brown devotes much of her time to community service through medical missions and organizations focused on mental health and wellness.

Drs. Ray Johnson, Frank Louthan, James Poliner and Awais Javed, recipients of the Clinical Excellence Award, are dedicated leaders in the field of pulmonology and critical care.Β  These four physicians, who make up the hospital’s intensivist group, were recognized for their exceptional contributions in the care of our patients throughout the Covid pandemic and most recent Delta surge.

Honored with the Dr. Olin Williams Distinguished Service Award, a lifetime achievement award for displaying wisdom and compassion throughout his career, Dr. Mike Jordan has been a member of the medical staff since 1993 and plays a key role in caring for high school and college athletics. He has served in various leadership capacities, including Chief of Orthopedics, Vice Chief of Staff and Chief of Staff. He currently sits on The Christy Houston Foundation board.

β€œI am pleased to recognize these six outstanding individuals for the consistent, exceptional, and personalized care they provide our patients,” said Gordon Ferguson, president and CEO, Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital. β€œAscension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital is privileged to serve our community with the clinical excellence of these servant leaders.”

Award recipients were chosen by their medical staff peers. Areas for award consideration included: hospital tenure, leadership responsibilities, hospital board membership, and commitment to community service.