The Latest
April 23, 2024

Where Every Family Matters

MCS’s 2020 Teachers of the Year

Teachers from each school were nominated for the prestigious education award given by the Tennessee Department of Education

Murfreesboro City Schools has announced the 2020 Teachers of the Year Award. Twenty-six teacher were chosen by peers for the honor based on the teachers' commitment to teaching excellence in and outside of the classroom. 

The teachers of the year are:

Discovery School – Teresa McCarthy, Kelley Kleppinger

John Pittard Elementary – Deborah Collier, Molly Oliver

Cason Lane Academy- Shay Wilson, Latasha McFarland

Salem Elementary – Kinsey Johnson, Cynthia Martin

Overall Creek Elementary – Sara Brown, Christy Honey

Scales Elementary- Kimberly Hix, Isormari Pozo

Bradley Academy – Abbey Sanders, Regan Clark

Erma Siegel Elementary – Brandy Cheatham, Margaret Lane

Reeves-Rogers Elementary -Renee Maurtua, Danielle Johnson

Black Fox Elementary – Kim Gambill, Meredith Patrum

Northfield Elementary – Judy Gritton, Rachel Bjork

Hobgood Elementary – Terri Guess, Corynn York

Mitchell-Neilson School – Heather Konyar Curry, Beverly Sanford

The Tennessee Teacher of the Year program is designed to promote recognition, respect and appreciation for teachers, to stimulate interest in teaching as a career, and to encourage public involvement in education.

About the Author

Susan Swindell Day

Susan Day is the editor in chief for this award-winning publication and all-things Nashville Parent digital creative. She's also an Equity actress, screenwriter and a mom of four amazing kids.