The Latest
June 30, 2022

Where Every Family Matters

Tennessee Permitless Carry Law Now in Effect

Starting July 1, 2021, a new law that allows for both open and concealed carrying of handguns by some Tennessee residents is in effect.

The law applies to most adults 21 and older and military members between 18 and 20 to carry open or concealed handguns without a permit. This bill does not apply to long guns.

“As enacted, creates an exception to the offense of unlawful carrying of a firearm, if a person meets age requirements, lawfully possesses the handgun, and is in a place that the person is lawfully present; revises other firearm statutes," as described on capitol.tn.gov.

The bill also increases the penalty for the theft of a firearm. Theft of a firearm will now be considered a Class E felony (increased from a Class A misdemeanor) with an incarceration period of 30 to 180 days (increased from 30 days). 

Learn more here.

READ MORE: The Most Effective Way to Keep Kids Safe With Guns in the Home

About the Author

Michael Aldrich

Michael Aldrich is Nashville Parent's Managing and Entertainment Editor and a Middle Tennessee arts writer. He and his wife, Alison, are the proud parents of 3-year-old Ezra.