The Latest
May 25, 2024

Where Every Family Matters

High School Drama Spotlight Winners

Kudos to Middle Tennessee's best in high school musical theater.

Congratulations to Hatty King (Best Actress) of Lipscomb Academy (Nashville) and Nathan Keffer (Best Actor) of Ravenwood High School. The two took home top honors at the 2017 Spotlight Awards on Saturday, May 13. The two will travel to New York next month to compete nationally in the Jimmy Awards on June 26.

The Spotlight Awards, presented by Lipscomb University and TPAC, is the Nashville High School Musical Theatre Awards program founded by Lipscomb University’s College of Entertainment & the Arts. Thirty area schools entered performances and productions for evaluation by the local theater community. The ceremony was co-hosted by Miles and Erica Aubrey, a Nashville couple with Broadway, TV, film, and music credits.


Individual Spotlight Awards went to Anna Cate Myers of Father Ryan High School (Best Female Soloist), Sevon Askew of Central Magnet High School (Best Male Soloist), Ashley Streeter of Wilson Central High School (Best Female Dancer), William Robinson of Nashville School of the Arts (Best Male Dancer), Alexandra Chopson of Davidson Academy (Standout Supporting Actress), Land Teller of Christ Presbyterian Academy (Standout Supporting Actor), Anna Bowman of St. Cecilia Academy (Standout Ensemble Actress), Walt Chitwood of Siegel High School (Standout Ensemble Actor), Tiyanna Gentry of Hillsboro High School (Standout Comedic Actress), Thomas Wagner of Hillsboro High School (Standout Comedic Actor), Abigail Wilson of Mt. Juliet Christian Academy (Standout Dramatic Actress), and Will Ryan of Brentwood High School (Standout Dramatic Actor).
Ravenwood High School led with four school awards, winning for Best Vocals, Best Music Direction, Best Direction and Best Show. Hillsboro High School won three awards for Best Choreography, Best Costumes and Best Ensemble. Additional honors went to Nashville School of the Arts (Best Orchestra), Ensworth School (Best Hair and Makeup), Page High School (Best Lighting), Mt. Juliet Christian Academy (Best Set Design), Davidson Academy (Best Overall Design Concept) and Brentwood High School (Best Overall Tech).

Click here for a full list of winners and nominees.

About the Author