The Latest
April 24, 2024

Where Every Family Matters

Nashville Symphony Hosts Free Chamber Music Series

The Nashville Symphony Chamber Music Series provides an informal and interactive concert-going experience.

Nashville Symphony is excited to announce further details surrounding the return of their popular Chamber Music Series, happening throughout the 2022/23 season. With programming developed by members of the orchestra, these free evenings of music and conversation are a wonderful way to get to your Nashville Symphony musicians and explore the history and artistry behind the music.

Tickets for all Chamber Music Series concerts go on sale two weeks prior to the performance dates and are free to the public. The concerts take place at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center concert hall at 1 Symphony Place, Nashville, TN 37201.

For more information and to secure tickets, visit

2022/23 Chamber Music Series Schedule

Farrell and Schumann

October 25, 2022 at 6 p.m.
Tickets on sale: September 27, 2022
By combining piano with string quartet, Schumann transformed the piano quintet into an influential Romantic genre. Composed in 1842, The Piano Quintet in E-Flat is one of the most famous chamber works of the 19th century. Also featured on the program is Chris Farrell’s String Quartet No. 2. Written in 2015 in a traditional set of four movements, Farrell explores lyrical melodies with a contemporary approach of rhythm and harmony. Performers include Johna Smith, violin; Likai He, violin; Christopher Farrell, viola; Keith Nicholas, cello; and Megan Gale, piano.

Given New Voice: Vocal Chamber Music Reimagined

January 18, 2023 at 6 p.m.
Tickets on sale: January 4, 2023
Join Anthony Parce and friends for a night of new and reimagined chamber works featuring voice. Performers include Theresa Zick, clarinet; Charissa Leung, violin; Annaliese Kowert, violin; Anthony Parce, viola; Grace Parce, cello; Evan Bish, double bass; and Erich Parce, baritone voice.

The Jonah People Chamber Ensemble

January 31, 2023 at 6 p.m.
Tickets on sale: January 17, 2023
Drawing inspiration from the Nashville Symphony’s forthcoming commission, The Jonah People: A Legacy of Struggle and Triumph by Hannibal Lokumbe (and Marvin Peterson), this chamber ensemble presents a program of works by African American composers. This performance highlights the music of Jessie Montgomery, Florence Price and Daniel Bernard Roumain. Performers include Charissa Leung, violin; Sarah Page, violin; Anthony Parce, viola; and Grace Parce.

Piano Trios of Haydn and Ravel

February 1, 2023 at 6 p.m.
Tickets on sale: January 4, 2023
The Elliston Trio returns to the Chamber Music Series with an exciting program of Haydn’s Piano Trio in C major Hoboken no. 21 and Ravel’s colorful and virtuosic Piano Trio in A minor. Performers include Erin Hall, violin; Keith Nicholas, cello; and Matthew Phelps, piano.

Schubert’s Cello Quintet

February 21, 2023 at 6 p.m.
Tickets on sale: January 24, 2023
Join members of the Nashville Symphony as they perform a masterwork of the chamber music repertoire, Schubert’s String Quintet in C major, D. 956. Performers include Jimin Lim, violin; Likai He, violin; Clare Yang, viola; Una Gong, cello; and Keith Nicholas, cello.

Modern Masterpieces for Brass

March 8, 2023 at 6 p.m.
Tickets on sale: February 8, 2023
While the Brass Quintet lacks the wealth of Classical and Romantic repertoire available to the strings and winds, this past century has provided an explosion of brilliant and beautiful works that solidified its legitimacy as a chamber ensemble. Presenting works by Jennifer Higdon, Kenneth Amis and David Sampson, the Nashville Symphony Brass Quintet will showcase new and established masterworks for the uniquely beautiful and powerful ensemble. Performers include Alec Blazek, trumpet; William Leathers, trumpet; Paul Jenkins, trombone; Patrick Walle, french horn; and Gilbert Long, tuba.

Brahms Clarinet Quintet

May 16, 2023 at 6 p.m.
Tickets on sale: April 18, 2023
Brahms’s Quintet for Clarinet and String Quartet in B minor, Op. 115 is considered one of the greatest works for chamber music ever composed. The quintet takes the listener on an incredible journey; a journey of great beauty, deep introspection, yearning and melancholy. Performers include Charissa Leung, violin; Sarah Page, violin; Grace Hartman, cello; and Katherine Kohler, clarinet.


About the Author

Michael Aldrich

Michael Aldrich is Nashville Parent's Managing Editor and a Middle Tennessee arts writer. He and his wife, Alison, are the proud parents of 4-year-old Ezra and baby Norah.